Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ME Digitization Projects
Arabic Papyrus, Parchment, and Paper
It contains 770 Arabic documents on papyrus and more than 1300 Arabic documents on paper, as well as several pieces on parchment. The bulk of the collection originated in Egypt, in addition to a small group of fragments from the University of Chicago. The collection includes a significant number of documents from the pre-Ottoman period and thus offers unique source material on the political, economic, religious and intellectual life of Egypt during the first two centuries of Islamic rule and the period up to Ottoman domination.
King-Crane Commission digital collection
During the summer of 1919, a delegation under the leadership of Oberlin College President Henry Churchill King and Chicago businessman Charles R. Crane travelled to areas of the former Ottoman territories. Their mission was to determine the wishes of the people of the region as their future was being determined by the major powers at the Paris Peace Conference. The King-Crane Commission, as it became known, met delegations and invited written petitions from various religious and political groups. This digital collection unifies the archival records of Commission members for the first time.
Library of Alexandria Digital Assets Repository (DAR)
A system developed at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina, the Library of Alexandria, to create and maintain library's digital collections. (From website)
Memory of Modern Egypt
ذاكرة مصر المعاصرة: صور، خطب، وثائق...
Nashriyah: digital Iranian history
These newspapers and periodicals, many of which have been only partially accessible inside Iran, cover the defining moments from the following three eras:
-The premiership of Mohammad Mossadegh and the August 1953 coup d'état against his government (1950-53)
-The 1979 Revolution; and
-The late 1990s/early 2000s ‘reform era’ of former President Mohammad Khatami.
Containing more than 12,000 pages, the collection is freely accessible without restriction.
President Gamal Abdel Naser Collection
In English, Arabic, and French : this site has been established in cooperation with Bibliotheca Alexandrina and the Gamal Abdel Nasser Foundation. It includes a number of digital audio-visual documents on the Leader Gamal Abdel Nasser, accompanied with detailed search options.
ShahreFarang is the Iranian version of peep boxes, a form of entertainment provided by wandering showmen. Shahre Farang were made of metal in the shape of an oriental castle with several holes. ShahreFarang.com is hoping to bring you visual treats. It is the brain child of two Iranian designers & culture vultures, Mehrdad Aref-Adib and Surena Parham. (From website)
Travelers in the Middle East Archive
The Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. TIMEA offers electronic texts such as travel guides, museum catalogs, and travel narratives, photographic and hand-drawn images of Egypt, and historical maps of Egypt and Cyprus.