Middle Eastern Studies: Open Access Resources

This project began as a consequence of a series of conversations in 2010 between Charles Jones and Peter Magierski at NYU about the need for a tool to assemble and distribute information on open access material relating to the Middle East.

Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content.

أرشيف الشارخ للمجلات الأدبية والثقافية العربية: يهدف الموقع لحفظ التراث المدون في المجلات الأدبية والثقافية العربية وتقديمه للباحثين.

The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions.

A blog maintained by scholars of the Middle East, North Africa, and Islamicate societies--this post comprises a crucial list of mostly-open access resources for the study of the Middle East.

A blog maintained by scholars of the Middle East, North Africa, and Islamicate societies--this post comprises a crucial list of mostly-open access visual resources from and about the Middle East.

The Inscriptions of Israel/Palestine project seeks to collect and make accessible over the Web all of the previously published inscriptions (and their English translations) of Israel/Palestine from the Persian period through the Islamic conquest (ca. 500 BCE - 640 CE). (From Website)

A digital collection of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps from across Harvard's libraries and museums.. These rare materials are freely available to Internet users worldwide.

An information portal for Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies. It offers worldwide free access to a large number of digital sources and publications relating to the MENA region and Islam via the MENAdoc portal.

The World Digital Library provides free access to manuscripts, rare books, maps, photographs, and other important cultural documents

The Middle East Materials Project (MEMP) preserves collections in digital and microform format of unique, rare, hard to obtain, and often expensive research material for Middle East studies. It also preserves deteriorating printed and manuscript scholarly materials. The geographic scope of MEMP coverage includes Arab countries, Israel, Turkey, Iran, and related areas not covered by other cooperative materials projects.

The site aims at providing comprehensive information pertaining to Iran and the Middle East. Particularly rich is its Middle East media section. Also a strong section for governmental reports of interest to political scientists and others in the social sciences.

The works on the region consisting of Asia west of Pakistan, northeastern Africa, and occasionally Greece and Pakistan. Works treating collectively the Arabic-speaking countries of Asia and Africa, or of Asia only, are entered under Arab countries.

الموسوعة الشاملة هي أضخم محرك بحث في الكتب والبحوث الإسلامية والعربية.

Al Mashriq - the Levant - Lebanon and the Middle East - Børre Ludvigsen

The Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.

Persian-Persian and Persian-English dictionary

LexiQamus is a website that aims to help researchers in deciphering illegible words in Ottoman manuscripts.

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government

A comprehensive resource designed to track the rise or decline of radical Islam on a national, regional and global level.

Representing nearly 40 years of scholarly effort, the Turkish Religious Affairs Foundation's İslam Ansiklopedisi is a reference work on par with Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd and 3rd editions. In Turkish.

An annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology.

Downloadable library, comprising thousands of Arabic texts.

Searchable database of classical Arabic texts.

Database of downloadable PDFs of Arabic texts, modern and classical.

A database of Persian historical documents from Iran and Central Asia up to the 20th century.

Alexandria library database of searchable texts.

It is a free database with records for more than 1.4 million electronic theses and dissertations from more than 320 universities around the world.

Ethos aims to provide free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research.

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.