Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

APA 6th Edition Citation Style: How do i cite?

How do i cite?

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author

alt="number 2 symbol"Publication date

alt="number 3 symbol"Book title

alt="number 4 symbol"Edition, if applicable

alt="number 5 symbol"Place of publication

alt="number 6 symbol"Publisher

 

Document example:

alt="screenshot of a book bibliographic record"

Proper full reference format:

American Psychological Association. (2010). Concise rules of APA style (6th ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological  Association.

 

In-Text Citations:  

When using the exact words (quotation) a page number must be included. 

"..."(American Psychological Association,  2010, p. 10)  

When using a paraphrase  or a summary (other's idea written by your own style) of a source, you are not required to add the page number.

...(American Psychological Association,  2010) 

 

Note: Citations are placed in the context of discussion using the author’s last name and date of publication.

Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

Example: American Psychological Association (2010) discusses the rules of academic writing styles.

 

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author

alt="number 2 symbol"Publication date

alt="number 3 symbol"Title

alt="number 4 symbol"Place of publication

alt="number 5 symbol"Publisher

alt="number 6 symbol"URL

 

Document example:

alt="screenshot of an ebook bibliographic record"

Proper full reference format:

Castillo, C. (2016). Social support: Gender differences, psychological importance and impacts on well-being. New York: Nova Science Publishers, Inc. Retrieved from                                            http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xww&AN=1286279&site=ehost-live

 

In-Text Citations:  

When using the exact words (quotation) a page number must be included. 

“...” (Castillo, 2016, p. 15)  

When using a paraphrase or a summary (other's idea written by your own style) of a source, you are not required to add the page number.

... (Castillo, 2016) 

 

Note: Citations are placed in the context of discussion using the author’s last name and date of publication.

Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

Example: Castillo (2016) discusses the importance of social support.

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author

alt="number 2 symbol"Publication date

alt="number 3 symbol"Article title

alt="number 4 symbol"Journal title

alt="number 5 symbol"Volume & issue number

alt="number 6 symbol"Page numbers

 

Document example:

alt="screenshot of a journal article record"

Proper full reference format:

Bouvier, A. (2020). L’Individualisme méthodologique au défi des critiques de la philosophie analytique récente. L'Année sociologique, vol. 70(1), 45-67.

 

In-Text Citations:  

When using the exact words (quotation) a page number must be included. 

“...” (Bouvier, 2020, p. 50)  

When using a paraphrase or a summary (other's idea written by your own style) of a source, you are not required to add the page number.

... (Bouvier, 2020) 

 

Note: Citations are placed in the context of discussion using the author’s last name and date of publication.

Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

Example: Bouvier (2020) a inventé l'individualisme méthodologique...

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author

alt="number 2 symbol"Publication date

alt="number 3 symbol"Article title

alt="number 4 symbol"Journal title

alt="number 5 symbol"Volume and issue number

alt="number 6 symbol"Page numbers

alt="number 7 symbol"Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

 

Document example:

alt="screenshot of a journal article with DIO record"

When a DOI is used, no further retrieval information is needed to identify or locate the content. Do not include the database name.

It is no longer necessary to include the date of retrieval unless the source material may change over time (such as Wikis).

Proper full reference format:

Shelly, D. R. (2010). Periodic, chaotic, and doubled earthquake recurrence intervals on the deep san andreas fault. Science, 328(5984), 1385-1388. doi:10.1126/science.1189741

 

In-Text Citations:  

When using the exact words (quotation) a page number must be included. 

“...” (Shelly, 2010, p. 1386)  

When using a paraphrase or a summary (other's idea written by your own style) of a source, you are not required to add the page number.

... (Shelly, 2010) 

 

Note: Citations are placed in the context of discussion using the author’s last name and date of publication.

Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

Example: Shelly (2010) said that…

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author

alt="number 2 symbol"Publication date

alt="number 3 symbol"Article title

alt="number 4 symbol"Journal title

alt="number 5 symbol"Volume and issue number

alt="number 6 symbol"Page numbers

alt="number 7 symbol"URL: if the DOI is not available, use the URL of the journal’s homepage

 

Document example:

alt="screenshot of a journal article without DOI record"

Proper full reference format:

Harb, P. (1970). Le rôle exercé par Philoxène de Mabbug sur l'évolution de la morale dans l'Eglise syrienne. Parole de l’Orient, 1 (1), 27-48. Retrieved from                                                      http://hdl.handle.net/2042/34967

 

In-Text Citations:  

When using the exact words (quotation) a page number must be included. 

“...” (Harb, 1970, p. 30)  

When using a paraphrase or a summary (other's idea written by your own style) of a source, you are not required to add the page number.

... (Harb, 1970) 

 

Note: Citations are placed in the context of discussion using the author’s last name and date of publication.

Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

Example: Harb (1970) a parlé sur le rôle exercé par Philoxène de Mabbug sur l'évolution de la morale dans l'Eglise syrienne

Citation elements order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Initials

alt="number 2 symbol"Date

 

Email example:

alt="screenshot of an email sender with date"

Proper Bibliographic Reference Format:

Emails and interviews do not provide recoverable data; we do not include them in the list of references.

 

In-Text Citations:

  • Email communications from individuals or interviews with individuals should be cited in the body of your paper.
  • Citations are placed in the contexts of discussion.
  • Citations should include the initials and the family name of the communicator and the date of the email.

...(E. Abdallah, personal communication, April 04, 2020)

Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

E. Abdallah (personal communication, April 04, 2020) discusses the covid-19 preventive measures.

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author

alt="number 2 symbol"Publication date: put (n. d.) if the date is not available

alt="number 3 symbol"Webpage title

alt="number 4 symbol"URL

 

Proper full reference format:

Venière, S. (n. d.). Histoire du monde occidental. Retrieved from http://histoireoccidentale.wordpress.com/

 

In-Text Citations:  

When using the exact words (quotation) a paragraph must be included instead pages. 

“...” (Venière, n. d., para. 1)

When using a paraphrase or a summary (other's idea written by your own style) of a source, you are not required to add the page number.

... (Venière, n. d.)

 

Note: If the webpage does not have an author, the full reference will be as follows:

  • Full reference format: Webpage title. (year). Retrieved from URL
  • In-text citation: ... (« first one or two words from the page », year, para.)

 

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author

alt="number 2 symbol"Date of Publication

alt="number 3 symbol"Document title

alt="number 4 symbol"URL

 

Proper full reference format:

Brunner, G. W. (1995). HEC-RAS River Analysis System. Hydraulic User's Manual. Version 1.0. Retrieved from https://www.hec.usace.army.mil/software/hec-                                                  ras/documentation/HEC-RAS%205.0%20Users%20Manual.pdf

 

In-Text Citations:  

When using the exact words (quotation) a page must be included. 

“...” (Brunner, 1995, p.1)

When using a paraphrase or a summary (other's idea written by your own style) of a source, you are not required to add the page number.

... (Brunner, 1995)

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Producer

alt="number 2 symbol"Director

alt="number 3 symbol"Release date

alt="number 4 symbol"Video title

alt="number 5 symbol"Material type

alt="number 6 symbol"Country of Origin

alt="number 7 symbol"Studio

 

Video Example:

alt="screenshot of a video record"

Proper Full Reference Format:

List producer and director in the usual author position use parentheses to identify their contribution.

Zanuck, R. D., Brown, D. (Producers), & Spielberg, S. (Director). (1975). Jaws [Motion picture]. United States: Universal Pictures.

 

In-Text Citations:

Citations are placed in the context of discussion using the producer and director’s last names and release date.

For the first citation in text (for works of three to five contributors):

(Zanuck, Brown & Spielberg, 1975)

Subsequent citations in text (for works of three to five contributors):

(Zanuck et al., 1975)

 

Note: Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

For the first citation in text (for works of three to five contributors):

Zanuck, Brown & Spielberg (1975) portray the great white shark as a brutal underwater menace.

Subsequent citations in text (for works of three to five authors):

Zanuck et al. (1975) showcase how hunting sharks can be uses as a solution to shark attacks.

Facebook post

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author of post - last name, initial (s)

alt="number 2 symbol"Date: (Year, Month Day). 

alt="number 3 symbol"Name of the page or the content or caption of the post - up to the first 40 words [Content form].

alt="number 4 symbol"URL

 

Proper full reference format:

USEK Library. (2020, March 27). Notice to students [Facebook post]. Retrieved from https://www.facebook.com/197278826379380/posts/2551429158509341/

 

 In-text citation:

…(USEK Library, 2020)

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author

alt="number 2 symbol"Publication date

alt="number 3 symbol"Entry title

alt="number 4 symbol"Editor

alt="number 5 symbol"Title of entry

alt="number 6 symbol"Page numbers

alt="number 7 symbol"Place of publication

alt="number 8 symbol"Publisher

 

Document example:

alt="screenshot of encyclopedia record"

Proper Reference Format:

Dahlgren, R. A. (2008). Acid deposition effects on soils. In W. Chesworth (Ed.), Encyclopedia of soil science (pp. 2-6). Dordrecht, The Netherlands: Springer.

 

In-Text Citations:  

Citations are placed in the context of discussion using the author’s last name and date of publication.

... (Dahlgren, 2008)  

Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

Dahlgren (2008) provides a comprehensive overview of the effects of acid deposition on soils.

Citation elements in order:

alt="number 1 symbol"Author: UNKOWN

alt="number 2 symbol"Publication date

alt="number 3 symbol"Entry title

alt="number 4 symbol"Editor

alt="number 5 symbol"Encyclopedia 

alt="number 6 symbol"Digital Object Identifier (DOI): NOT FOUND

 

Document example:

alt=screenshot of an entry from britannica"

Proper Reference Format:

 Ancient Rome. (2020). In Encyclopædia Britannica. Retrieved from https://academic-eb-com.ezproxy.usek.edu.lb/levels/collegiate/article/ancient-Rome/106272

 

In-Text Citations:

Citations are placed in the context of discussion using the author’s last name and date of publication.

When a work has no identified author, cite in text the first few words of the article title using double quotation marks, “headline-style" capitalization, and the year.

(“Ancient Rome”, 2020)

 

Alternatively, you can integrate the citation into the sentence by means of narrative.

The total matching between the reference list and the parenthetical citation is a must, so the article title must stand in place of an author’s name in your paper.

“Ancient Rome” (2020) indicates that…