Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

USEK Library Catalog: Basic Search

This guide explains how to search the catalog and how to renew and request items.

Start your Search

Basic Search allows you to search for items using all fields: Keyword, title, journal title, author, subject, call number, ISBN/ISSN etc. 

To start searching:

  1. Access the Library homepage;
  2. Click on the Catalog tab under Search section;
  3. Choose the field to search for from the drop down menu to the left;
  4. Type your search term into the box at the top of the screen and click enter.

alt="USEK library catalog interface"

Fields

field is a specific part of a record in a database. Using a field option can help you narrow down your research.

The most Common fields are: 

  1. keyword: A keyword search will find words in titles, subtitles, authors, subject headings, notes, series and other fields. You can combine your keywords with the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT to modify or to add limits to your search.
  2. Title: Limit your search term to the exact title of a resource. 
  3. Journal Title: Limit your search term to the exact title of a journal.
  4. Author: Limit your search to the author name.
  5. Subject: Narrow your search term to a subject category. 
  6. Call Number: The call number assigned to an item indicates its title, Subject matter and Author; therefore an exact call number limits your search to the exact title of a resource.

Searching Fields

A keyword search will find words in titles, subtitles, authors, subject headings, notes, series and other fields. You can combine your keywords with the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT to modify or to add limits to your search.

Example: globalization OR education

OR broaden your search results. When using OR, you will retrieve search results containing either the keywords globalization or education.

alt="Keyword search"

Note:

  • Search results may be limited to available items and sorted by relevance, date or title.
  • To view the bibliographic information, please click on the title hyperlink.

A title search will limit your search term to exact title of a resource.

If you want to retrieve a list of all items that start with the same 2 or 3 words in the same order, you can use the title field as well. please see example below:

Example:

alt="title search"

Note:

  • The hitlist (set of results) shows the items, which have matched your research.
  • Search results may be limited to available items or sorted by author, title, date, etc...
  • Click on the title hyperlink to view the bibliographic information.

A journal title search will limit your search to the exact title of a journal.

  • Choose Journal Title field;
  • Search for a specific journal title;
  • You will be redirected to the bibliographic information and holdings of the journal.

alt="journal title search"

Note:

  • To view all volumes click on View additional copies;
  • To view a specific volume, type it into the small square next to View additional copies and click Enter.
  • If the bibliographic record of a journal has connect to option followed by a URL or a hyperlink, that's mean that this Journal has an Online version as well; click on the hyperlink to be redirected to the online version.

Author field will limit your search to the author name.

Example below:

alt="author field"

Click on a Name to retrieve the titles listed under the name specified. (21 results)

alt="author search"

Note:

  • Titles retrieved may be limited to available items or sorted by title, date, etc...
  • Click on the titles to view their bibliographic descriptions.

Call Number: The call number assigned to an item indicates its title, Subject matter and Author; therefore an exact call number limits your search to the exact title of a resource.

USEK Library has two types of call Numbers:

1. Alphanumeric Call Numbers: for items located in the library closed stacks and off-site storage:

If you already have the call number of an item, choose the field call number and type it. You will be redirected automatically to the bibliographic information of this specific item. (please see below).

alt="call number search"

2. Dewey Decimal Classification: for items located in Reading Room 1, Reading Room 2, Loft 1, Loft 2 and campuses.

Dewey Decimal System organizes the contents of a library based on the division of all knowledge into 10 groups.

Check the below chart for more information:

If you have the exact Dewey call number, type it into the Call Number box and you will be redirected to the bibliographic information of a specific title (same as alphanumeric call numbers).

If you want to search for all titles related to e.g. Economics and its subdivisions.

  • Enter the first part of the call number in the Call Number box, (330)
  • A list of titles having call numbers starting with 330 will be retrieved.
  • Click on the Extended Display to get an extended view of bibliographic records.

alt="Dewey System search"

How to understand the Dewey Decimal System?

Howcast. (2010, March 26). How to understand the Dewey Decimal System [Video file]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/RNEDEk1Tz4Y